link to briefings documents at

Magna Carta Plus News

back to index page
orientation to the news at

short briefing dcuments at

This page provides occasional items, linked to the original articles, as we attempt to keep up with the rapidly changing situation on civil liberties.
Archive of old news service:
2002 - 2004

1st Jan to 9th Sept 2005


Identity Cards Bill - Third Reading - How MPs voted

Posted by James Hammerton @ 10:57 pm on 19 October, 2005.
Categories privacy and surveillance.
Edit This Permalink to this article

The Public Whip lists, by party, how (and whether) MPs voted.

The following Labour MPs voted against the bill and thus rebelled against the government:

Dianne Abbot, Michael Clapham, Jeremy Corbyn, Gwyneth Dunwoody, Mark Fisher, Paul Flynn, Neil Gerrard, Ian Gibson, Kate Hoey, Kelvin Hopkins, Glenda Jackson, Lynne Jones, Robert Marshall-Andrews, John McDonnell, Albert Owen, Linda Riordan, Clare Short, Alan Simpson, Geraldine Smith, John Smith, David Taylor, Robert Wareing, David Winnick, Mike Wood

The following Labour MPs were absent:

Russell Brown, Martin Caton, Frank Cook, Claire Curtis-Thomas, Jim Devine, Frank Dobson, Jimmy Hood, Brian Jenkins, Andrew Love, Ian McCartney, Michael Meacher, Austin Mitchell, Madeleine Moon, George Mudie, Geoffrey Robinson, Denis Skinner, Rachel Squire, Mark Todd, Paul Truswell, Rudi Vis

This earlier article lists absent Tory and Lib Dem MPs, the rest of the MPs from those parties all voted against the bill.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.


© magnacartaplus.org2008, 2007, 2006 [1 December]

variable words
prints as variable A4 pages (on my printer and set-up)

abstracts of documents on UK Acts of Parliament click for news from orientation to orientation button links to other relevant sites links

Powered by WordPress